+628 21452 24932    info@ypi-indonesia.nl


West Sumatra is a provinceof Indonesia. It lies on the west coast of the island of Sumatra. The latest official estimate for January 2014 shows a population of 5,098,790. West Sumatra is sub-divided into 12 regencies and seven cities. It has relatively more cities than other provinces in Indonesia, except Java province.[2] Its capital is Padang.
It borders the provinces of North Sumatra (Sumatera Utara) to the north, Riau and Jambi to the east, and Bengkulu to the southeast. It includes the Mentawai Islands off the coast.

Social Work
We work together with Sumatra Volunteer in West-Sumatra. This is an amazing project which is coordinated by local people in Batusangkar. You will teach English, organise activities and work closely with the local government to improve the lcoal living conditions for the poor people in the area. This project is very back to basic and you will be in the middle of nowhere for a while. It means basic living conditions no western food and no nightlife or alcohol consumption.